Skip to main content
My preferencesSign out
Proofpoint, Inc.

Managing and Customizing User Licenses

Situation You want to customize your license services, or upgrade or downgrade your package.
Solution

See below for information on what features you can customize regarding your license, and how to:

  • Add/Decrease User Licenses (restricted to Channel Admin roles or higher)
  • Enable User Capping
  • Upgrading
  • Downgrading

Licensing

Proofpoint Essentials is available in 4 versions:

  • Beginner (No longer available)
  • Business
  • Advanced
  • Professional

For more information on versions, check out this website of Proofpoint Essentials Packages

Features Customization

Each company is interested in different Proofpoint Essentials services, so when selecting the package type, you are able to choose the appropriate features and modules for your needs.  You can upgrade, downgrade or change an Customer's package by following the instructions below after navigating to Administration > Licensing & Billing:

Adding / Decreasing Users’ Licences. (restricted to roles of Channel admin or higher)

  • Under User Licenses, click Manage.
  • Update the value in the Licensed Users text field.
  • Click Update Licenses.
  • If additional users are added, your Billing and Technical contact will be informed of the change.

Enable User capping

Enabling this feature will not allow customers to add users above the number in the license field. This is useful for partners who sell an annual prepaid agreement and do not want to be billed for any users above that licensed amount. It forces the customer to contact the partner to order more licenses and be able to add them to the system.

  • Under User Licenses, click Manage.
  • Choose the appropriate options you wish to enable.
  • Click Update Licenses.

Upgrading / DOWNGRADING

  • Under Products, and within the Email Security product, click the ellipsis icon and select Manage Package.
  • Select the appropriate package.
  • Click Continue.
  • An customer can trial a higher or lower package for 30 days. At the end of 30 days, the account will revert back to the original package unless confirmed.
  • An customer can trial a package once every 60 days.