Skip to main content
My preferencesSign out
Proofpoint, Inc.

How to exempt an account in AD and Azure AD Sync

Situation How to Exempt an account in Active Directory (AD) and Azure Active Directory (AD) Sync
Solution Follow the below steps in the User Management- Import & Sync-  Choose either AD or Azure AD sync

 

Overview 

AD and/or Azure AD is Proofpoint Essentials source of truth. Whatever the status is in AD or Azure AD it should be similar in Proofpoint Essentials. Office 365 syncs with AD and Azure AD, but does not tell Proofpoint Essentials what to do with the account. To ignore what AD and Azure says we must exempt the account. 

Exempt an Account

Whether it is a user or a functional account these may need to be exempted. 

 

AD Sync

1. Go to Administration > User Management > Import & Sync > Active Directory Sync

save and run sync.PNG

2. Temporarily change the Sync Frequency to Never. (This stops unwanted syncing during these steps.) 

3. Click on Search now (AD) or Save and Run Sync Now (Azure).

4. In the AD or Azure Sync summary, Find the account(s) in the adding area. (This screen is also the same in both AD and Azure)

If the accounts are listed in that area, you can click on the check box to the left of the name(s) and then over to the right side click Exempt from Sync if just one account and Exempt Selected on multiple accounts. 

5. If the account(s) are marked as a User account instead of a Functional account- then follow this article to convert it to a Functional Account Adding Functional Accounts Manually (draft). 

6. Once that is done, you will find the accounts in the account in the deleting area. This is because AD or Azure AD is still seeing this as a user account. Expand the Deleting area and mark the box(es) with a check and either select on Exempt From Sync or Exempt Selected for multiple accounts. 

7. Remember to change the Sync Frequency back to desired interval. 

8. Save your changes. 

Once you mark an account Exempt it will no longer sync on a scheduled AD or Azure sync. It will remain in the state until you delete the account or change the status back to Add to Sync. That will then look to the AD system and follow whatever it says there. 

Related Links- 

Azure Setup

AD Setup

KB Last reviewed- 06/03/21